You Are Here // Home / Latest News

Latest News

COQ 2016-17 : Senior School


Chief Organiser : Mrs. R. Popli
Assisted by : Mrs. R. Nagpal, Mrs. R. Sharma, Mrs. S. Chandra, Mr. M. Vaz, Mr. D. Mathew, Mrs. R. Pharasi, Mrs. A. Khanna, Mr. O. P. Singh, Mr. R. K. Sharma and Mr. N. Agrawal.

The much awaited annual Columban Open Quiz was held on the 26th & 27th of August 2016 on a mammoth scale in collaboration with Oxford University Press.

About 280 plus teams from various prestigious schools from all across Delhi and NCR participated in this 2-day event.  The Preliminary rounds followed by the Semi-Finals, were held on the 26th of August. The venue for the Preliminary Rounds was the Edmund Rice Hall, while the Semi- Final rounds were held in the Middle School Auditorium. 
The Grand Finale was held the following day in the Junior School Hall in which 12 teams vied for the coveted COQ trophy. 

The Preliminary rounds as well as the Semi-finals were prepared and conducted brilliantly by ex-Columbans Rabin Jacob, Ravtej Singh, Aditya Garg, Ravnit Singh, Siddhant Pyasi, Adil Jacob,Shreyas Sood, Ishaan Watts, Shivam Parashar, Ayush Sinha, Tanmay Dutta, Pramey Das, Vangmay Jayant. The Finals were conducted by our seasoned Quiz master and ex Columban Mr. Kunal Savarkar of Xpress Minds. Mr. Rajnish Mathur (G.M. Sales, Oxford University Press) along with Mr. Abhishek Anand, Ms. Misha Beri & Mr. Rohit Chouksey, among others from Oxford University Press also honoured us with their presence. 

The 12 teams that made it to the Finals were from:-
  1. Delhi Public School - R.K. Puram (3 teams)
  2. Delhi Public School - Noida (2 teams)
  3. St. Columba's School 
  4. Modern School, Barakhamba Road
  5. Sardar Patel Vidyalaya (2 teams)
  6. New Era Public School
  7. Amity International School
  8. Mount Carmel School
Modern School, Barakhamba Road emerged the proud winner of COQ 2016. Close on their heels was a team from Delhi Public School, R.K. Puram in second position and DPS, Noida bagged the third position. The programme ended with the prize distribution and the vote of thanks.

View All Photos go to photo gallery Click Here

Posted By : admin | Date : 10-09-2016